Home Contact Us
Responsibilities of the Clerk
Deed Room Closes at 4:30
Chambers County Clerk
PO Box 728
Anahuac, Texas 77514
Chambers County Clerk
404 Washington Avenue
Anahuac, Texas 77514
Fax: (409) 267-8405
West Annex Physical Address:
Chambers County Clerk
10616 Eagle Drive
Mont Belvieu, Texas 77523
Fax: (281) 385-0832
Office Hours (Both Locations):
Monday - Friday
8AM - 12PM & 1PM - 5PM
Application for Employment
Application for Marks and Brands
All marks and brands must be registered every ten years at the County Clerk’s Office per county.
The cost to register the brand is $26.00 (1 location) and $5.00 for each additional location on the animal.
Brand registration is for 10 years – August 31, 2011 to August 31, 2021.
Application for Subpoena
Application for Subpoena Duces Tecum
Assumed Names (DBA) are valid for a period not to exceed 10 years and are normally registered within the same county in which your business is located. However, you can register your business in as many counties as you would like.
The County Clerk's Office has no requirement on the number of signatures on the certificate. But recommends that you ask your bank and/or CPA to determine how to file your assumed name.
A State Tax ID Number is obtained thru the State Comptroller’s Office. Phone: 800-252-5555
Abandonment of Assumed Name requires any signatures from the original Assumed Name.
The County Clerk's Office will not research the availability of a business name and does not verify that a duplicate filing has occurred. Computers are available in our office to search our Assumed Name records.
If a corporation and an unincorporated company have very similar names and there is a problem, neither automatically has the right to the name. If both parties have properly filed the Assumed Name Certificate the courts will most likely have to decide this matter. Therefore, it is important to do a thorough search when considering a business name.
If you have further questions please contact our office at 409-267-2418.
Search and pay cases on the Odyssey Portal
Civil Case Information
Misdemeanor Payments and Searches
Record Searches: This search is not offered by employees of the County Clerk's Office. The clerks of this office are recorders and keepers of the Records, not qualified examiners of Official Public Records (Texas Government Code §81.101 & 81.102)
You may use the Misdemeanor Payments and Searches above or come into our main office located at 404 Washington Avenue, Anahuac, Texas 77514 or the sub-office at 10616 Eagle Drive, Mont Belvieu, Texas to use public computers provided for your convenience.
*For Deed Records - See the Deed Room Tab
Deed Room Hours: Monday - Friday, 8am - 12pm & 1pm - 4:30pm
Property Records: This search is not offered by employees of the County Clerk's Office.
The clerks of this office are recorders and keepers of the Records, not qualified examiners of Official Public Records (Texas Government Code §81.101 & 81.102)
You may use the Deed Room Search above or come into our main office located at 404 Washington Avenue, Anahuac, Texas 77514 or the sub-office at 10616 Eagle Drive, Mont Belvieu, Texas to use public computers provided for your convenience.
*For Criminal, Civil, Probate and Hospital Lien Record searches please see the Payments and Searches Tab.
Per Senate Bill 1139, Passed by the 84th Legislative Session:
E-File Mandate effective January 1, 2016 for Chambers
Per the Texas Supreme Court mandate miscellaneous order MD 12-9208, all documents that are part of
civil matters must be e-filed.
Mailed documents will only be accepted by Pro-Se fillers as they do not fall under the Mandate issued by
the Supreme Court. Documents mailed from an attorney will be returned unfiled so that you may e-file
Paper documents brought into the County Clerk’s Office will only be accepted by Pro-se filers, Original
Orders from the Judge or paper documents that were accepted as Bench Filings with the proper date/time
stamp by the Judge as per statute. NO FAX filings will be accepted by this office. No paper documents
from attorneys will be accepted over the counter for filing in the County Clerk’s Office, unless they
fall under the exceptions listed below.
This mandate does not apply to individuals who are not represented by attorneys.
Exceptions to e-filing:
Wills are not required to be filed electronically. If a will is filed electronically, the original must be
presented to the Clerk’s Office within 3 business days after the application is filed.
The following documents must not be filed electronically:
Documents filed under seal or presented to the court in camera.
Documents to which access is otherwise restricted by law or court order.
Please visit www.efiletexas.gov for registration information and for additional information to assist with
704 Galveston Avenue, Anahuac, TX 77514
10 PR 4019A Dayton, TX 77535
5522 Barron Rd, Cove, TX 77523
5914 Treasure Cove Rd, Cove, TX 77523
7831 Jarrod Way, Baytown, TX 77523
7902 Swan Ln, Baytown, TX 77523
8323 Rusty Blackhaw Ln, Baytown, TX 77523
12703 Old Rivere Dr, Mont Belvieu, TX 77523
8215 Starfish Rd., Baytown, TX 77523
5834 Golden Cove Dr., Cove, TX 77523
8010 Tallow Wood Ct.., Baytown, TX 77523
5942 Treasure Cove Rd Baytown, TX 77523
207 Circle Dr. South Baytown TX, 77521
5023 Maplewood Ln., Old River,TX 77523
4423 West Bayshore Drive, Anahuac, TX 77514
SH 146 & Placid Dr., Mont Belvieu, TX 77523
5419 Carriage Trail Dr. #7, Mont Belvieu 77523
105 Staples Dr., Baytown, TX 77523
5507 Tammy Ln., Cove, TX 77523
306 Live Oak, Anahuac, TX 77514
8210 Starfish Road, Cove, TX 77523
517 Wallisville Liberty Road, Wallisville, TX 77597
1003 Hamilton Street, Anahuac, TX 77514
12802 Maplewood Lane, Old River, TX 77535
724 8TH ST., Winnie, TX 77665
9903 Ahley Ln., Baytown, TX 77521
14915 Sparks Court, Cove, TX 77523
537 Cedar Street, Winnie, TX 77665
9903 Ashley Lane, Baytown, TX 77521
7803 Hunters Peak, Baytown, TX 77523
1076 Wallisville Liberty Rd., Wallisville, TX 77597
9827 Forest Hollow, Baytown, TX 77521
5911 Golden Cove Rd., Cove, TX 77523
7310 Hickory Ln., Baytown, TX 77521
3010 Demi Ln., Baytown, TX 77520
505 North Kansas Ave., Anahuac, TX 77514
5942 Treasure Cove Rd. Baytown, TX 77523
5103 Cotton Creek Dr., Baytown, TX 77520
FM 562, Anahuac, TX 77514
23602 IH-10, Wallisville, TX 77597
10019 Sweet Gum, Baytown, TX 77521
10235 Country Squire Blvd, Baytown, TX 77523
1538 Sterling Dr. Baytown, TX 77523
9130 Point Barrow Rd. Beach City, TX 77523
415 W Main St. Stowell, TX 77661
4826 Emerald Bay Circle, Baytown, TX 77523
Parcels 94-1-2, 94-1-1-1, and 97-0-2, Wallisville, TX 77597
8703 McCollum Park Rd., Beach City, TX 77523
Lot 7 of Gator Country
8310 Silver Fir Lane, Baytown, TX 77523
806 Jackson Rd., Double Bayou, TX 77514
6034 Coral Cove Road, Cove, TX 77523
515 Canal Street, Anahuac, TX 77514
207 Range Ln., Baytown, TX 77523
10602 Canna Court, Baytown, TX 77523
8303 Silver Fir Ln. Baytown, TX 77523
10507 Devinwood Dr., Baytown, TX 77520
5107 Dripping Spring Ave., Baytown, TX 77523
15111 Icet Creek Avenue, Mont Belvieu, TX 77523
12639 Morganite Court, Mont Belvieu, TX 77523
10247 Country Squire Blvd., Baytown, TX 77520-0759
How do I transfer property from one owner to another?
Answer: Generally, you should contact an attorney or a title company to prepare the type of document needed. Some forms are available in form books at the library or at an office supply store. After the document is prepared, if it is a recordable document (which means it meets the recording standards and is properly signed and notarized) you may bring or mail the document to the County Clerk’s Office to be recorded in Official Public Records. There is a fee to record your document. See “Fees.”
I can’t get my family member to sign a deed over to me, what do I do?
Answer: Contact an attorney for legal advice.
My mortgage company sent me this document to record, but I don’t know what it means. Could you explain what this document does?
Answer: The County Clerk’s Office cannot explain what a document does from a legal standpoint. Our office only handles the recording of documents in Official Public Records. We cannot provide legal advice. You may wish to contact your mortgage company (the office that sent you the document) or contact your attorney.
How do I find out who owns the property across the street from me?
Answer: Contact the Chambers County Tax Office at (409)267-2763 or the Chambers County Appraisal District at (409)267-3795.
I have lost my original deed. Where can I obtain another one?
Answer: If your deed has been recorded in the Office of the County Clerk, you may obtain a certified copy of your deed, which will stand as the original. Otherwise, you may wish to contact an attorney for legal advice.
Where can I obtain divorce records?
Answer: Divorce is handled through the District Clerk’s Office. The number to that office is (409)267-2432.
Where can I inquire about child support issues?
Answer: Child Support is handled through the District Clerk’s Office. The number to that office is (409) 267-2432.
This page contains general public notices filed in the County Clerk's office, with the exception of Chambers County public notices, which can be found on the Public Notices page.
Birth and Death Certificates
Only a qualified applicant may obtain a copy of a birth certificate.
Our office only has death certificates for deaths that occurred in Chambers County.
• The parent, child, brother, sister, spouse, grandparent, step-parent, step-sibling, legal guardian,
or managing conservator.
• Must provide the following information and show proper identification. (a copy of the applicant's
valid driver's license or other valid picture identification)
Any Texas birth certificate may be immediately purchased in Chambers County. This office
uses a remote access system to the state's records dating, at this time, from 1926 to the present.
Certificate By Mail:
To obtain a birth or death certificate by mail, complete the application or send a letter including all the listed information and a copy of the applicant's valid driver's license or other valid picture identification along with a cashier’s check or money order payable to CHAMBERS COUNTY CLERK. Please provide a legible return
address and day telephone number (if available).
Premarital Education Course:
Twogether In Texas
A couple that intends to be married in Texas MUST apply in person for a marriage license at a Texas County Clerk’s Office. Both the bride and the groom in the presence of the County Clerk must sign the application for a license. There are a few exceptions as noted in the Texas Statutes.
Texas now encourages free marriage education classes around the state for premarital couples. The classes are at least 8 hours long and after completing the class, you will get a certificate that you can take to your County Clerk when applying for your marriage license. To find a class log onto https://www.twogetherintexas.com.
There is a $22.00 fee if a marriage education certificate is presented otherwise there is an $82.00 fee without the certificate that is payable only in CASH or CREDIT CARD.
There must be at least 72 hours between the time of issuance of a license and the time the ceremony occurs unless one applicant is on active duty in the armed forced; or completion of a marriage education class; or a waiver is granted. A waiver may only be waived by a County or District Judge.
A marriage license is valid for 90 days, so with the 72 hour waiting period, there is an 87 day period in which the marriage ceremony can take place. The license is valid in any county in Texas.
Requirements to Obtain a License:
• Proof of identity and age (Drivers’ License, State Identification card, or other document issued by this state or another state, United States or a foreign country, or certified copy of applicants birth certificate.)
• If required, the documents establishing parental consent, should the applicant be under the age of 18.
• The information to complete the license application.
• A divorce by either party must be final 30 days prior to the marriage license application.
• Verbalize the oath printed on the application and sign the application before the County Clerk.
• There is no law requiring a blood test.
After the Wedding:
The license will need to be mailed or brought back to the County Clerk’s office. The license will be recorded into public records and will be returned to you in 10-12 days.
For additional information please call 409-267-2418
The military services encourage military personnel to file their discharge papers (DD 214) with the County Clerk in the county of residence. This includes members of the United States Armed Forces, the United States Armed Forces Reserve, or an Armed Forces Auxiliary.
Texas Local Government Code, Section 192.002 authorizes the County Clerk to file the military discharge at no charge.
By filing the military discharge form in the public records, a permanent record is maintained for future proof of service for veteran’s benefits. The original will be returned to the owner after recording. Military Discharge records are considered confidential.
404 Washington Avenue
Anahuac, Texas 77514
Phone: (409) 267-2400
Hours: Monday - Friday
8:00 AM-12:00 PM
1:00 PM-5:00 PM
Copyright © 2018 All rights reserved.