Home Contact Us
Janet Vayon, Chief Clerk
Melissa Cormier, Clerk
Yvette Sonnier, Clerk
Marci Van Deventer, Chief Clerk
Vickie Jo Sanchez, Clerk
Taylor Wilcox, Clerk
Vicky Page, Chief Clerk
Jimmie Wheeler, Clerk
Autumn Poole, Chief Clerk
Maria Diaz, Clerk
Shelby Morgan, Clerk
SEARCH and PAY cases, click here:
Important - It is always best to have a lawyer. The law and court proceedings are complicated, and lawyers have legal training. A lawyer can help you understand your rights and options and help get the best result possible in your case. Sometimes even simple matters can have consequences that you are not aware of or do not understand.
Self-Represented Information Packets:
*A party filing a lawsuit is referred to as Plaintiff.
*A party being sued is referred to as Defendant.
Small Claims Plaintiff: Filing a Small Claims case
Small Claims Defendant: A Small Claims case has been filed against you
Eviction Plaintiff: Filing an Eviction case
Eviction Defendant: An Eviction case has been filed against you
Debt Claim Defendant: A Debt Claims case has been filed against you
Occupational Driver's License (ODL):
When a person's driver's license or privilege is suspended, that person can qualify under certain circumstances for a special license, call an occupational driver's license (ODL), that allows them to drive with specific restrictions during the period of suspension.
If the driver's license has not been suspended, then the person is not eligible for an ODL. If the driver's license was suspended because of a DWI conviction, a Justice of the Peace cannot issue an ODL, the person has to apply with the court where they were convicted.
Application: An application must be filed in a justice, county, or district court in the precinct or county in which (1) the person resides; or (2) the offense occurred for which the license was suspended. The petition describes in detail the applicant's essential need for an occupational driver's license.
Filing fee: The fee to file an Application for Occupational Drivers License in the Justice Court is $46. The filing fee is payable by cash, cashier's check or money order payable to Chambers County, or by credit card (convenience fees applicable).
Driving Record: You must order a certified abstract of your complete driving record (Type AR). The court cannot consider granting an occupational driver's license without this record. A certified 3-year history record (Type 2A or Type 3A) will not be sufficient, you must request Type AR. DPS Form DR-36 is available below or can be found on the Texas Dept. of Public Safety site: https://txapps.texas.gov/tolapp/txldrcdr/TXDPSLicenseeManager
Evidence of Financial Responsibility: In addition to the Certified Abstract of your Driving Record, you must provide evidence of financial responsibility (insurance) in accordance with the Texas Motor Vehicle Safety Act, Chapter 601, Texas Transportation Code. The court cannot consider granting an Occupational DL without this proof.
It is each parties responsibility to file the correct number of copies needed. The COURT, gets the original document, and there should be a copy for the Plaintiff and one for EACH defendant. If you want file stamped copies returned to you by mail, YOU must provide a SELF-ADDRESSED, STAMPED ENVELOPE.
Frequently Asked Questions
404 Washington Avenue
Anahuac, Texas 77514
Phone: (409) 267-2400
Hours: Monday - Friday
8:00 AM-12:00 PM
1:00 PM-5:00 PM
Copyright © 2018 All rights reserved.